Filet crochet lace edging

Hi,my dears!

I have surprised myself with a small project today, actually I crocheted the edging to another dish towel I put aside as Christmas gifts for my friends…. Surprised because I found myself being in love with a nice chart….

SAM_7225

Eeeeeek……!!!!! FILET CROCHET LACE….. oh, no, no, I’m not sick at that point!!!!

My Mum is used to it not me!!!!NOT ME!!!

Well,as usual,I’m so wrong!!!

I have found the above chart so nice and I have decided to challenge my prejudice!!!! And here follow the photos with the result of my morning work…

SAM_7212

SAM_7213

SAM_7220

(….I appreciate more and more my laundry as background for my photos….. 🙂 )

SAM_7222

A quick,easy and cheap crochet.You’ll need a really small amount of yarn for it, the remains of previous projects would be perfect 🙂 At first, the lace was thought for a towel of a nice deep pastel blue shade but I made a mistake…. instead of straching and pinning the lace I decided just to iron it (yeah,yeah,you’re right, I’m so lazy….) and I streched it too much….luckily for me,the lenght of my lace fits well the towel from the photos and I prefered to lose the neat outline of the desing but obtain an item of good proportions…

So…. what do you say? Does the lace look ok even if sewed on a towel of a bright colour? Is the overall look of my project contemporary and IN or is it better to leave the filet crochet to our Mums? Hope it is not because I’ve got an idea while crocheting the above edging which I’d like to realize…..

Love

xxx

Tajana

16 thoughts on “Filet crochet lace edging

    • You’re so kind as always,dear Bmary!Well,you’re right,it depends so much on the project and it is not easy to understand how and with what exactly match filet crochet…I think I know to whom I’m going to give it and depending of the reaction of my friend I’ll understand if I have done a good job or not…. 🙂

    • Thanks again!! 🙂 🙂 🙂 I love this pattern and I’m going to crochet the same edging for another towel. It really gave me a great satisfaction 🙂 Is the chart clear enough? If needed,I’ll take another photo,it is worth to be shared! 🙂

  1. It looks so delicate, just the sort of item that brings added pleasure to everyday life, I think hand crafted items such as this are very much in vogue

    • Thank you!Well,I think that too…. have to find a way to make filet a bit more actual that this one…. I have an idea in my mind and hope to have time to realize it… right now I have two more rows and the bind off to do on my shawl….. I’m off to knitt remembering to breath from time to time….. 😛

    • 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 Think in the next few weeks…. 🙂 🙂 🙂 There’s sewing involved,hope I’ll be able to sew again,my last attempts turned out quite bad….

  2. I’ve seen a lot of projects lately using filet crochet. I think you’re onto a hot trend. I’ve ironed many a project and I like to think of myself as resourceful, not lazy… you can think of yourself that way too. 🙂 Love all your projects. You add a special touch to everything.

    • 🙂 🙂 🙂 LOL Ok,I’ll be resourceful from now on 🙂 🙂 🙂 moreover beause I really do not like to stiffen my works if it is not necessary…. 🙂 I’ll do the same edging for another towel,the one which the above one was originally meant to,this time with two row of squares less 🙂 should be fine… 🙂

Leave a Reply

