A busy week with no result….

Hello,my dear friends!

What to say….?This current week is quite busy but would you believe me if I tell you that there was and still is no real result of the hard work and effort I’m putting in the actual works in progress…. hm…. where to start…..?Ok,with the project which turned out worse …. I tried to sew a tee folowing a nice Burda pattern…. but….

Image

Well,all the directions my mum gave to me were followed literally! I’m happy with how I sewed the neck hole and with the linearity of the seams….I’m an excellent student πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ … but …. I chose the wrong fabric for this model…This beautiful flowering fabric is so firm that the small sleeves make me look like an American indian totem….and I made it tooooo big …….. ufffffff………….. I have to undo it and try to make the tee fits my body……… I have already undone the sleeves and the seams on the back…I will baste it and, before sewing, I will ask somebody to check how the tee fits once modified….

The dissadisfaction with my sewing influenced all the other crafty activities…..the wish to figure out what went wrong was and still is quite strong and I wasn’t very inspired for crochet and knit…. hm……. that is a problem because I have to make a gift soon and need to have something done………….so I crocheted without a goal but having a theme in mind and this is what I’ve done……….

Image

…an (quite creepy…..have to make another one….) owl made by following a nice pattern suggested by the kind creature behindΒ  TheGrangeRange blog… ❀ ❀ ❀ Thanks,Geraldine!

…an acorn crocheted following a Squirrel Picnic pattern! Hi,Jennifer!And thank you soooooooo much for your generosity!!! ❀ ❀ ❀

…a mushroom whose pattern I found on Raverly ….

….and a leaf and some flowers found in this book….

Well,all together are not bad and I manage to create the elements which will be part of the mobile I have in mind for such a long time…….

Image

What do you think?Could my idea work?

Last few shots are about my bag project….I manage to join one of the two sides………..

Image

…..and think about adding some charms….

Image

Image

Image

The edgings are a bit curvy but I hope that once finished and with the lining on the bag will be linear…. well,I’ll keep you updated…. πŸ˜€

I wish you a peaceful night!

Love

xxx

Tajana

14 thoughts on “A busy week with no result….

  1. Hi Tajana! I love your mobile idea and I’m honored that you’ve included a Squirrel Picnic acorn! I like your owl too. He’s not creepy. He’s winking, right?

    Great idea to have someone else check your fit on the tee. I need to find someone to help me with that too! I am so tired of spending hours on a garment only to have it not fit. I do that all the time. I say “Uffff!” too! If we lived closer we could help each other with that… and have tea… Wouldn’t that be lovely? πŸ™‚

    • That would be perfect!!!Who knows what creative mind could bear…. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ I would really like to offer you a biiiiiiiiiiiiiig piece of cake I bake sometimes ….. simple but tasty,mostly my mum’s recipes …. πŸ™‚ I have to say that a garment is made once so all the time spent on it is not totally wasted but what a stress……. Thank you sooooooooooooo much for your nice words about my owl….. he’s waving his wing to say hello to you and he’s so happy somebody likes him since his maker doesn’t…I was thinking about making Hodge but I don’t have the hairy fabric at mine and was toooooooooooooooo lazy to create a tail……. I saw that Catia,the owner of my fav yarn shop has a similar fabric in,so…. πŸ˜‰

      • I would love a piece of cake… even the virtual kind. πŸ™‚ I’m so excited that you want to make a Hodge! You might want to wait a few more weeks though. I’m working on renovating the pattern with a crocheted tail! I know a lot of people who don’t sew or don’t have the faux fur, and they would also appreciate a crochet alternative. Sooo… that should be up in a few weeks or so. But if you really want to make a hairy fabric tail, you should go for it. They are fun to make and sew on your squirrel. I can’t wait to see him! Hi to Owl. I’m waving right back. πŸ™‚

      • What a great news!!!! I admire your skill in writing patterns!I’m completely incapable of!!!Well,could think about making both the crocheted and a fur tail….let’s make both!I have a big amount of dark brown cotton yarn.The only thing I miss are some suitable eyes…. stores here are not supplied so well …..but a solution will be found….

  2. hello – I have used Burda patterns before but have to say always struggled with following / understanding the instructions – maybe they are not translated very well from German to English? … I prefer using Simplicity, McCalls, Vogue patterns…and if you measure yourself and pick the right size they always fit!

    don’t feel disheartened … put it down to experience that’s what I try to tell myself if it doesn’t go as planned πŸ˜‰

    on the crochet front it all looks lovely – I can’t crochet – and so my acorns – already ordered with my mum … hope they are ready for autumn … πŸ˜‰

    • Thank you sooooooo much for your nice words of encouragement!I’m not sure if I can find the magazines you mentioned here in Italy even if I’m sooooo awfully curious in seeing them and trying to sew their patterns…. well,I’ll try to find something online…. I grew up seeing my mother buying and constantly using Burda’s patterns so I’m quite used on this magazine… this time it was me who,affraid to sew a small garment, cut out a too big one…. have to pay more attention on measurements and type of fabric I have in my hands…. I agree with you totally,it’s an experience matter… thanks for your appreciation for my crochet stuff…. I hope that the mobile,once finished,will look ok…. πŸ™‚

      • hello … McCall’s and Simplicity you can buy from: sewingpatterns.com – you actually buy a pattern in many sizes and use the size you need – found it much easier than trying to use patterns from Burda mag … all the best and don’t give up πŸ™‚

      • I have just had a look on the page!Wow,the models are gorgeous and very much alike my style!Thank you soooo much for the information!I’ll do a really good use of it! ❀ ❀ ❀

  3. I love the idea of a woodland theme mobile, your bag pattern is soooo wonderful I can’t wait to see the finished article, as for garment sewing keep with it as the end product will be so worth the effort ❀

    • I have made some progress with the mobile,just finished a squirrel….I’ll write a post soon…. πŸ˜€ Thank you for your encouragement with my sewing attempts.I have undone the sleeves and took in on both sides.Now it looks better but have to try it with somebody looking for imperfections… a friend of mine said she’ll be willing to help me so I hope that I’ll end it up next week!I love the fabric and the quality of sewing so….

  4. Pingback: Small quick projects | Tatie's world

  5. Pingback: The top | Tatie's world

Leave a Reply

